I’ve moved around a lot over the years and lived in plenty of rentals with shared or old laundry machines. It’s always nice to have more space in the fridge or a fancy dishwasher, but I would take a high-end dryer over any other appliance in my house. I think that having the right dryer will not only save you a lot of time on each load but can keep your clothes fitting right and looking newer, longer. And, it will save you money on your energy bill. I couldn’t wait to dive in and test the LG Ultra Large Capacity Dryer’s high-tech features with Sensor Dry and Turbo Steam. It has plenty of positive reviews, an accompanying smart app, and a patented steam function. After a month of using it more than once every day, I love this electric dryer. If you’re in the market to upgrade, read the rest of this review carefully to see if it’s worth the splurge for your lifestyle. Within an hour, Best Buy removed my old washing machine and dryer and installed the new machines side by side in my laundry room. This model does have the option to be stacked if that fits your space better. You can also reverse the hinge and swing direction on the door, depending on your room layout. We have a dedicated laundry room, but this dryer’s size is closet-depth with plenty of room to close the closet door. The machine is sleek looking. It has tempered glass doors that resist shock and scratches and are tinted so you can’t see what’s happening inside. The door trim matches the control knob. I got this dryer (and matching washer) in white, but it also comes in a dark steel grey. The drum has a light inside, so you can be sure to take out every last sock. The front panel display is dark, so you aren’t bombarded with dryer functions every time you walk by it. The buttons light up when the machine is on. The one part about this dryer that isn’t perfect is I don’t think you could operate this machine in dim light. You could turn it on, run it, or use the app, but it would be hard to use the touch screen display in the dark. I downloaded the accompanying LG ThinQ app (free on the app store) and synced it to the dryer using my house’s Wi-Fi. A Wi-Fi connection is required for using the app to control the dryer. The app setup didn’t take long. I read the instructions a few times on the LG website and read the entire dryer manual. I also registered my machine with LG by scanning the model number and serial number. The LG ThinQ App has everything you’d expect, plus a lot of functions I wasn’t expecting but loved. You can download new programs to your dryer using the app for specific uses. For example, I downloaded the Small Load, Gym Clothes, and Blanket Refresh settings because that seems to be a lot of the laundry I do in my house. After running a wash cycle in the matching LG washing machine, I turned on my new dryer and loaded the damp clothing. Since the washer is on the Wi-Fi network, the Smart Pairing function allows the washer and dryer to communicate. The dryer suggested an appropriate drying setting based on the wash I just did. It’s a huge time saver and makes me feel like I’m living in the future. With the control knob, you can select other manual cycles like Speed Dry and Air Dry and make your customizations with the touch panel. Also, you can opt for LG’s Sensor Dry cycle. Sensor Dry works with all clothing types (delicates, heavy-duty, towels). The built-in intelligent sensors can detect the fabric texture, moisture levels, and load size, then automatically adjusts and selects the right drying motions, temperatures, and time that will give you the perfect dry. When I use Sensor Dry, at the end of the cycle, I do not have damp or shrunken clothes. This efficiency also saves money on the energy bill.  In addition to these standard drying options, my favorite part about this dryer is the TurboSteam functionality. I’ve never owned or used a dryer with steam. Some dry cycles have the steam feature as part of the program. Still, the real winner is that you can use the TurboSteam technology between washes (on dry items) to eliminate wrinkles and odors or freshen up items when you don’t have time for a full wash and dry. My husband and I use the Steam Fresh function before work or when we pull something from our closet that needs freshening. We can toss-in up to five garments, select Steam Fresh, and our clothes are fresh and wrinkle-free in just 10 minutes. We also use the Steam Sanitary and Antibacterial cycles to refresh household items like our toddlers’ plush toys, blankets, and throw pillows. It’s like having a dry cleaner in your laundry room. While it isn’t required (since steam already eliminates odors and bacteria), I use a fabric freshening spray before I use the steam functions. My clothes come looking and smelling like I just washed them; it is the best feature. If you have napping little ones or if you’re sensitive to noise like me, this dryer is worth it based on how quiet it is. If you opt for a signal to let you know your cycle is complete, the chime is long but pleasant, like a little lullaby. You can also lock the control panel while your cycle is running so your children don’t mess with the settings or pull the doors open.

How will this dryer hold up over time? 

Since this test period is one month, I can’t predict how it will hold up after many years. But, several features make me think LG built this machine to last. The inside of this dryer drum is made of aluminized alloy steel to reduce nicks and chips and keep your dryer looking new, longer. The outside of the drum door is tinted, scratch-resistant tempered glass. This dryer also has LG’s Smart Diagnosis program, which means you can diagnose and troubleshoot problems with your machine without calling an LG brand rep. Even though the machine is new, I ran a diagnostic a few weeks into using it. It took less than 30 seconds, and the program detected no abnormal operations. I love having the FlowSense Duct Clogging and Lint Filter Indicators on the machine to let me know when my ducts and filter need cleaning. Whenever you can avoid lint buildup, it improves the dryer’s performance, prevents service calls, and makes the machine run safer.

What load size can this dryer handle?

Compared to other dryers, this machine is full-size even though LG calls it “ultra-large capacity.” As a rule of thumb, a dryer should have twice the capacity of its washer. With 7.4 cubic feet of space, this dryer can handle most load sizes, including our king-size comforter. We run larger loads less often to save money, although it doesn’t always work out that way. This machine gives us the flexibility to handle our family and sleepover guests if needed. The added capacity of this machine doesn’t add to its overall size. Externally, it’s the same size as the washer, measuring 27 inches wide, 30 inches deep, and 39 inches tall.

Is this dryer worth the price?

This LG dryer is expensive, but its features and versatility make it worth its price. Even though it’s a full-size unit, it fits smaller spaces like in a closet. It can tackle large loads and be stacked. It offers lots of extra downloadable programs, and the steam feature opens up a world of other uses.

LG Ultra Large Capacity Electric Dryer vs. Samsung 7.4 Cu. Ft. Electric Dryer with Steam Sanitize+

The LG Ultra Large Capacity Electric Dryer is comparable to the Samsung 7.4 Cubic Feet Electric Dryer with Steam Sanitize+ in size, steaming ability, and efficiency. The LG is 7.4 cubic feet in size like the Samsung. However, it is a front-loader while the Samsung loads from the top. A front-loading advantage is that shorter people can reach all the clothes with ease, although it requires crouching and bending. The LG also offers smart connectivity, hooking up with your mobile devices to alert you when the cycle ends, start or stop the machine, or get new cycles uploaded to your dryer. Samsung doesn’t have the smart capability but offers a drying rack, handy for drying shoes, a dry sensor that stops the cycle if it senses the clothes are dry, and a wrinkle-removing cycle. Pricewise, the two steam-drying machines are about the same price. Samsung offers a special deal slashing about $500 to $600 off the cost of two Samsung washer/dryer combos, making the Samsung a better deal. This appliance is the best dryer for busy people—considering your budget allows it. The built-in steam functionality means I might not need to iron again, and I can freshen up anything in my house without needing to go to the dry cleaner. As long as you’re OK that the app isn’t fully remote and accept that certain functions take time to get used to, you’ll love this dryer.