Bedsheets are like your bed’s welcoming committee. They can either make you want to stay in bed all day or snag rough skin you didn’t even know you had. Your greatest hope is your sheets will get softer with each wash, unfortunately, some end up pilling after the second trip through the washing machine. I have been hard-pressed to find a set that I loved as much as my last set of high thread count cotton sheets. I wanted to see if the Italic sateen sheets could give me that buttery soft feel that I missed. Gloriously, the Italic Slumber Cotton Sateen Sheet Set fell into the “Why can’t I stay in bed all day?” category. Cotton sheets come in different weaves—percale, sateen, and flannel. Percale weaves have a one-over-one-under weave, while sateen usually has a three-over-one-under weave. Sateen sheets typically have a smooth, silky surface with a slight sheen and a drape that flows over the body. In comparison, percale sheets have a crisp matte finish and a somewhat lighter feel.  A 400-thread-count sheet was enough to catch my eye, too. Anything over 300-thread-count falls on the high side of quality. Sometimes if you see sheets advertised at 1,000-thread-count or higher, many times they’re counting two layers in a double-ply weave. This double-counting inflates the thread count but does not necessarily increase the sheet quality. The combination of the 100 percent long-staple cotton with the sateen weave and high thread count gave these Italic sheets a distinct drapey softness that I adored. A sheet with a good drape flows over the body smoothly like butter. These Italic sheets felt buttery but not heavy. I’ve used 600-thread count sheets, which had a heavier drape, but I preferred the Italic sheets because I’m a warm sleeper. Staying cool at night is quite a challenge. Of the two most popular cotton sheet types—percale and sateen—sateen is the heavier of the two. I was worried that the Italic sheets might get too warm, but they weren’t. They have a light but noticeable weight. The cotton was incredibly breathable, not suffocating. I stayed comfortable all night.  As far as the feel, the Italic sheets get two thumbs up from me. Even after several trips through the washing machine and dryer, they felt heavenly. Like other high-quality cotton bedding, they got softer with each washing. I washed the sheets five times throughout the testing process, and they looked as good the fifth time through the wash as they did the first. I have no complaints about the quality. These sheets have a fairly deep 15-inch pocket. It’s a standard size that should fit the majority of mattresses. The Italic sheets were a little too deep for my 11-inch mattress, but I tucked them in extra far at the corners to make up for the extra depth. It would have been nicer if they perfectly fit my mattress—but it wasn’t a problem. They still felt amazing, and the sheets stayed nicely tucked in, even on nights when I tossed and turned.  The only other issue I had with the Italic sheets was the same issue I have with every pair of 100 percent cotton sheets: wrinkles. I’m not one to iron my sheets, but I do enjoy a smooth bed. Right out of the dryer, the Italic sheets looked a little like crepe paper. On the one hand, that’s to be expected. They’re cotton, and cotton wrinkles. Some wrinkles fell out on their own. I pulled the sheets extra tight to get out as many wrinkles as possible. It worked to a point. The sheets weren’t wrinkle-free, but enough wrinkles came out that the sheets felt wonderful when tucking in at night. 

What colors does the Italic Slumber Cotton Sateen Sheet Set come in?

If there was one true downside to these sheets, it’s the color options. They only come in light gray, pale blue, and white. Personally, I love white sheets. I decided to try the pale blue for testing, and I wasn’t disappointed. It’s a beautiful color that works well with the neutral colors in my bedroom. I love these sheets enough to wish there were more color options for a guest bedroom or child’s bedroom.

Are these cotton sheets organic?

The Italic sheets are made of long-staple, combed cotton that’s not organically grown or manufactured. The staple refers to the length of the individual cotton fibers in the sheet’s threads. The longer the staple, the higher the quality of the resulting thread and sheet. Combed cotton has had the shortest cotton fibers removed. The combination of the long-staple and combing process leaves behind soft, high-quality sheets. These sheets aren’t Egyptian cotton with an extra-long staple (ELS), but they feel comfortably soft without the extra price for Egyptian cotton. 

Do these sheets have any third-party certifications?

The Italic sheets may not be organic, but they are OEKO-TEX certified, which means they’ve been independently tested and found to have low levels or be free from a long list of potentially harmful chemicals.

Are the Italic sateen sheets worth the price?

Italic compares its products to online luxury retailers known for their quality and high price tags. Italic uses a membership club business model to reduce the price of their products. Consequently, you get good quality at a reasonable price. (While it’s no longer a requirement to be a member to shop, you still have the option of Italic Bold.) These aren’t the cheapest sheets you will find. However, for the quality and comfort you get for a four-piece, queen-size set, they are worth the price.

Italic Slumber Cotton Sateen Sheet Set vs. PeachSkinSheets Night Sweats

One of my favorite things about the Italic sheets was their cool softness, even on warm nights. I used these sheets in the late summer/early fall when temperatures aren’t at their warmest; regardless, I can still overheat. If you are a hot sleeper, especially during a heatwave, a cooling sheet like the PeachSkinSheets Night Sweats is another good option to look at. It is a soft, moisture-wicking sheet. They’re breathable and pull moisture away from your body in a way that sateen doesn’t. Some moisture-wicking power can come in handy if the summer temperatures stay in the 80s at night.  I loved these sheets. They were soft, cool, and had a light drape that felt luxurious. With Italic, you get luxury bedding without feeling the need to donate blood to afford the privilege. They’re priced right, and I stayed comfortably cool all night long.